The Elizabeth and Israel Christian Scholarship was created in 1999 and is offered annually by Historic Fincastle, Inc.(HFI) as a way to commemorate the history of Fincastle and encourage and support students from our local community. The mission of HFI is to support the preservation of the historical, physical and cultural resources of Fincastle, Virginia and its surroundings.

The Pat Simmons and Sally Eads Volunteer Scholarship was created in 2016 as a way to honor these two women and their long history of volunteerism to the Town of Fincastle and HFI.  Pat Simmons was a long-time educator in Botetourt County Public Schools and Virginia Western Community College. Sally Eads was a history professor at Virginia Western Community College and served on the Botetourt County School Board.

Scholarship applications are available in the School Counseling Departments of Lord Botetourt and James River each year in January.

The Scholarship Program Criteria:
• Current senior at Lord Botetourt High School or James River High School
• Community service, work/intern experiences, academic achievement
• Planned enrollment as an undergraduate in the fall semester

Application Requirements:
• Two letters of reference
• Current official transcript in a sealed envelope (Christian only)
• Current resume or list including honors, activities, and work experience
• An essay of not more than 500 words.

Essay Topic changes each year

The HFI Scholarship Program is facilitated and managed by Historic Fincastle, Inc. Scholarship Committee and HFI Board of Directors.

List of Past Scholarship Recipients (dating to 1999)

  HFI Israel and Elizabeth Christian Scholarship Winners     Total Amount of HFI Scholarship Awards
Year Winner Amount Notes  
1999 Jenny Ladenheim $1000 $1000
2000 Jenny Ladenheim $1000 $2000
2001 Meg Sellers $1000 $3000
2002 Derek WileyKim Sharp $1000$500 $4500
2003 Rob CampbellAbigail Weddle $500$500 Memory of H.W. Kessler $5500
2004 Dustin King $1000 Memory of Emily Honts $6500
2005 Michael Alexander $1000 $7500
2006 Joshua Demaury $1000 Memory of Leslie B. Kinion $8500
2007 Hunter Simmons $500 Memory of Eugene Downs $9000
2008 Katie McCampbell $500 $9500
2009 n/a
2010 Steven Huffman $500 $10,000
2011 Mallory White (LBHS)Shannon Kessler (JRHS) $500$500 $11,000
2012 Bennett Witcher (LBHS)Zachariah Ewen (JRHS) $500$500 $12,000
2013 R. Catherine Nash (LBHS)Hannah Austin (JRHS) $500$500 $13,000
Christopher Halsey (LBHS)Lucas Arney (JRHS)
Kara Brads (LBHS) Jill Tucker (JRHS)
Abigail Rigatti(LBHS) Rebecca Theimer(JRHS)
Alexandra Lesniak(LBHS) Zachery Keith(JRHS) (Simmons/Eads Scholarship)
Memory of Ronald Lucas and Margaret (Peg) Wysong $14,000
TOTAL Through 2016 $17,500